Mahalo all

Dear Friends and Supporters:

So, why didn’t we win? Most would say that it was “all about the money”. The winner Brian Schatz raised and spent nearly twice the amount we did. The other two major contenders likewise raised and spent significantly more than we were able to. Our fundraising, while theoretically sufficient to be competitive, was too little and too late.

This is not to denigrate or take away from the successful campaign of Brian Schatz. After all, his ability to raise and manage the funds needed is itself a reflection of his talents and competence. Brian Schatz will make a fine Lieutenant Governor and I will be supporting him enthusiastically in that quest. The primary focus for each of us now should be the election of Neil Abercrombie and Brian Schatz as Hawaii’s next Governor and Lieutenant Governor.

My biggest regret is disappointing so many people who have given so much in support of my candidacy. To each I offer my sincerest thanks. Your faith in me is humbling and I am truly honored. I will honor the trust you placed in me regardless of whatever new path that I must soon choose.

One door closes and another opens. I am not sure where my steps will lead in the weeks ahead but my plan is to remain involved in public policy and advocacy work on a statewide basis. I remain committed to serving the public good. That could be meaningful work with a nonprofit, a government agency or a private sector organization that is driven by a mission that addresses the many needs and challenges facing our State. I welcome your inquiries and ideas and will be happy to meet for exploratory discussions.

This week my focus is on closing down the campaign. And yes, we need to raise money to pay the final campaign expenses. Contributions may be made online atwww.garyhooser.com or by mailing a check to Friends of Gary Hooser, P.O. Box 4094 Honolulu Hawaii 96812. Your help prior to October 1 is especially needed and appreciated.

In addition, if you see a Hooser yard sign or banner in your neighborhood, please grab it and either find a way to recycle… or I hear they are an excellent fuel source for the H-Power plant.

Again, from the bottom of my heart, I thank each and every one of you for any and all help and support you have given.

Sincerely,

Gary L. Hooser

Leave a Reply

  • ©2010 Paid for by Friends of Gary Hooser P.O. Box 4094, Honolulu HI 96812
